In God’s Time – Friday, December 18

“God told Abram: “Leave your country, your family, and your father’s home for a land that I will show you. I’ll make you a great nation and bless you. … All the families of the Earth will be blessed through you.” Genesis 12:1-3 (The Message)

Linda Stoetzer

Linda Stoetzer

I first heard about LAMP in 2002. It took 12 years and lots of prodding, but I finally answered God’s call to “go, teach, baptize, and make disciples.” Although not as old as Abram, I was apprehensive about leaving my country, my family, and my home for a place I’d never heard of. What a pleasant surprise awaited!

Learning about “Indian time” reminded me of “God’s time”: sometimes it just doesn’t seem to make sense. At a ripe old age, Abraham and Sarah finally had the child that God had promised them. A young virgin, Mary, gave birth to Jesus, God’s Son. Certainly this wasn’t in her plans! Yet, God used these miraculous events to bless the world.

God provided for my team. We were blessed with beautiful weather. The community embraced us and provided us and the children with lunches. More than 70 children came to hear how Jesus lived and died to save us from our sins. On Friday afternoon, two boys sat on the church steps with me and told me of their wish to be baptized. What a blessing we receive when we follow God’s plans and accept His timing!

We pray: Heavenly Father, thank you for blessing me. Keep prodding me to be a blessing to others, all in Your time. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Written by Linda Stoetzer
Volunteer Missionary to Big Trout Lake, Ontario

Leave a Reply

